DEVELOPINGenergy bills

VAT removed from electricity bills: what it saves at different bill sizes

UKCalc News Desk · Event 1 October 2026 · Published 8 October 2026 · Takes effect 1 October 2026

The answer

VAT is no longer charged on household electricity bills: the change has been in force since 1 October 2026. HM Treasury says it keeps the price cap £45 a year lower. UKCalc's calculation: a household with a £1,800 annual electricity bill saves £85.71 a year.

What happened

On 1 October 2026 the government removed VAT from household electricity bills. HM Treasury says this keeps the Energy Price Cap £45 a year lower than it would otherwise have been for the October to December price-cap period, and expects suppliers to pass the cut on to customers on fixed tariffs too. The announcement does not say how long VAT will stay off electricity, and it does not mention gas.

Source fact

From 1 October 2026 the government removed VAT from household electricity bills.

Status: Confirmed and in force

HM Treasury (GOV.UK) — Energy bill tax cut starts today to give families breathing space, 1 October 2026

Source fact

HM Treasury says the cut keeps the Energy Price Cap £45 a year lower than it would have been, and that savings depend on how much energy a household uses.

HM Treasury (GOV.UK) — Energy bill tax cut starts today to give families breathing space, 1 October 2026

Source fact

Around a third of households are on fixed tariffs. The government expects suppliers to pass the VAT cut on to them too.

HM Treasury (GOV.UK) — Energy bill tax cut starts today to give families breathing space, 1 October 2026

Source fact

GOV.UK lists home energy among the goods and services charged at the reduced VAT rate of 5%.

GOV.UK — VAT rates

What is established, and what is not

What we know
  • VAT is off household electricity bills from 1 October 2026 (HM Treasury).
  • HM Treasury puts the effect at £45 a year on the price cap.
  • Before the change, home energy carried VAT at the 5% reduced rate (GOV.UK).
What we are checking
  • How long the removal lasts: the announcement gives no end date and refers to the October to December price-cap period.
  • Whether VAT is also removed from gas: the announcement refers only to electricity bills.

Nothing in the right-hand column is established. It is listed so that what is confirmed cannot be read as covering it.

What it means

The saving is the VAT that was inside each bill: about 4.8% of a VAT-inclusive bill, because the old rate was 5%. So it grows with use: a £1,800-a-year bill saves £85.71 a year, and the table below shows other bill sizes. HM Treasury's £45 corresponds to a typical bill of about £945 a year.

Who is affected

Key numbers

Every figure below is a UKCalc calculation from the stated inputs, not a figure published by any source.

UKCalc analysis

HM Treasury's £45 figure is consistent with a typical annual electricity bill of about £945 including VAT. HM Treasury does not state the bill it used.

Source: UKCalc.uk analysis using HM Treasury's £45 figure and the 5% reduced VAT rate (GOV.UK). Checked 8 October 2026. How this was calculated.
UKCalc analysis

A household with a £1,800 annual electricity bill saves £85.71 a year. The table shows the saving at other bill sizes.

Source: UKCalc.uk analysis using the 5% reduced VAT rate (GOV.UK) applied to VAT-inclusive bills. Checked 8 October 2026. How this was calculated.

What UKCalc calculated

The annual electricity bill implied by the £45 figure

£945 a year

Method
If removing 5% VAT saves £45, the VAT-inclusive bill is £45 × 105 ÷ 5.
Inputs
  • £45 a year (HM Treasury, 1 October 2026)
  • VAT reduced rate 5% (UKCalc registry, from GOV.UK VAT rates)
Assumptions
  • The £45 is the VAT on a typical price-cap electricity bill; HM Treasury does not state the bill it used.
  • Standing charges and unit rates are both in the bill, as both carried VAT.

VAT removed, by annual electricity bill

£85.71 a year

Electricity VAT removed, by annual bill (UKCalc calculation)
Annual electricity bill (incl. former 5% VAT)VAT removed a yearAbout a month
£600£28.57£2.38
£900£42.86£3.57
£1,200£57.14£4.76
£1,800£85.71£7.14
Method
VAT inside a VAT-inclusive bill = bill × 5 ÷ 105. Removing the VAT saves exactly that amount.
Inputs
  • Annual electricity bills of £600, £900, £1,200 and £1,800 including VAT (illustrative)
  • VAT reduced rate 5% (UKCalc registry, from GOV.UK VAT rates)
Assumptions
  • Bills are illustrative annual totals including the former 5% VAT.
  • Suppliers pass the full cut on; usage is unchanged.
  • Monthly figures are annual ÷ 12.

The share of a VAT-inclusive bill that was VAT

4.8%

Method
VAT share of an inclusive price = 5 ÷ 105.
Inputs
  • VAT reduced rate 5% (UKCalc registry, from GOV.UK VAT rates)
Assumptions
  • Applies to the whole bill, standing charge and unit charges alike.

Assumptions and scope

Change any of these and the result changes. They are stated so the figure can be checked rather than taken on trust. How UKCalc produces its figures: methodology.

UKCalc's interpretation

The section below is UKCalc's analysis. It is separated from the facts above deliberately: it is arguable, and the facts are not.

UKCalc interpretation

Because the saving is a fixed share of the bill, about 4.8%, households that use more electricity save more in pounds. HM Treasury's £45 is a typical figure, not what every household will see.

UKCalc's reading of the evidence above, not a statement by any source.

What happens next

The announcement does not say how long VAT will stay off electricity, or whether gas is included. UKCalc will update this article when HM Treasury or HMRC publishes the detail.

Questions this answers

Sources

Statutory figures belong to the body that publishes them. UKCalc compiles and verifies them, and any calculation built on top is UKCalc's own — see the governed rates reference.

Budget plannerPut your new monthly electricity cost into a full household budget.How VAT works in the UKExplains the standard, reduced and zero VAT rates the change sits within.
For journalists and editorial partners. The UKCalc News Desk can supply the underlying figures, model a different scenario, or explain the mechanics on the record. How to work with us.

Reported by the UKCalc News Desk. Statutory inputs are taken from UKCalc’s verified rates reference for the 2026/27 tax year; the calculations and interpretation are UKCalc’s own. Published by Animateed Limited. About · Editorial policy · Methodology · News Desk